Rex Hancock and Maddox bay ?

Recreational and touring boaters

Adventureseeker42
Name: Jacob

Rex Hancock and Maddox bay ?

Post by Adventureseeker42 » Sun Oct 16, 2016 11:42 am

Hey guys I'm new to this page and fairly new to the delta region. I've been enjoying going to places like apple lake and the woods of dagmar and wattensaw. Ive heard canoeing Maddox bay and Rex Hancock black swamp can be fun also but not really sure of when an where to go. Any advice on certain routes or water depths I should wait on would be greatly appriciated!

BEubanks
Name: Byron Eubanks

Re: Rex Hancock and Maddox bay ?

Post by BEubanks » Tue Oct 18, 2016 8:01 am

Welcome to the forum, Rex. Not nearly as active as it once was--much of the conversation has shifted to Facebook. But you might check out the Arkansas Blackwater group there for more info on your questions.

Cowper
Name: Cowper C

Post by Cowper » Thu Oct 27, 2016 8:03 am

We have paddled the Maddox bay area at all river levels, from so low that we had to drag over beaver dams to get into Adams Bayou, to so high that there was significant flow in Maddox bay, and it was possible to not only paddle into Upper Eagle's Nest Lake, but also paddle North-west out of Eagle's lake and over to Cut Bluff Slough. But at any level you could paddle across the bay and into Pryor Lake. The best access for Maddox Bay is a boat ramp at N34.51 W91.182 (Lawrenceville). Be sure to stop in the store and pay your $5 fee for use of the ramp. The best gauge for levels in this area is here: http://www.water.weather.gov/ahps2/hydr ... gage=clda4 I can tell you that the water is "low" now, but you can still paddle Maddox Bay and Pryor Lake. Also go to Adams Bayou, and paddle as far as you can into that. But levels have to be somewhere upwards of 20 feet (or more?) before you can paddle into Upper Eagles Nest Lake.