Mad River vs Mohawk

Paddling gear and boat review

repoman

Mad River vs Mohawk

Post by repoman » Sat Feb 23, 2008 11:00 pm

I am considering purchasing a ww canoe. I am a beginner, too short and fat to kayak (5' 10" & 250#). The two boats that I have been reading about are the Mad River Outrage X and the Mohawk - either the XL-13 or the Probe-13.

Does anyone have any experience with these boats, or opinions as to which might be a better choice?

Any feedback will be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,

Repoman
[/code]

curly

Post by curly » Sun Feb 24, 2008 7:57 am

repo,

i too am located in nea and if you want you can paddle my xl 13. i've paddled the outrage (nice boat, but too edgy for me to begin on)

Arthur Bowie
Name: Arthur Bowie

Post by Arthur Bowie » Sun Feb 24, 2008 1:16 pm

13 foot is my preferred size for whitewater canoes and often the best choice for a lot of people either starting out or maybe beginning to zero in on what works best for them.

The three you mentioned are all in the same general class, if you don't have much experience you may not notice the difference between them. The only way to know is to get in each, preferably on still, calm water, and do flatwater drills in one after the other. After a little time in any of them, the other two will be noticeably different in the way it feels to you.

Outfitting usually makes as much difference in what feels right as does the hull, the best rule is always paddle before you buy.

I've had 12' Outrage, XL13, and nearly bought Outrage X on last go around. I have a Probe for a student boat now, and use Esquif Blast as #1. The boat I think is currently the best available is the new Mohawk Shaman, I'm doing all I can to hold off buying one for a little bit longer.