Week of Rivers Prep Questions (Looking for Tips)

Organize your paddling trips here, or find out about upcoming trips you may want to join

RobB
Name: Rob Bailey

Week of Rivers Prep Questions (Looking for Tips)

Post by RobB » Sun Jun 21, 2015 2:31 pm

Newbie here with some questions about WOR 2015. I imagine others have questions they'd like answers too also, so everyone sound off.

1) My wife (not a paddler) will be coming, but wants to be able to stay cool. Are there COOL places around the campground for her to hang out in the shade, preferably next to moving water? Or is there such places close by? (I'll bring my sit-on-top LL Coupe for her to use and maybe we'll do some Class I-II together.)

2) I know the weather will be hot and humid, and I've heard the water is cool. What do you wear paddling? I.e., are wetsuits recommended? (We only have dry tops).

3) When we group in the morning for whatever run we want to do, are shuttles provided, or do we as a group figure it out with the vehicles we have?

4) What do you think are the best, closest, Class I, II, and III runs to do. I still have to read about what's there, but welcome your input if you've been before.

5) Depending on the run of course, do people do multiple runs in a day, or are they on the longer side where you do one a day?

6) What advice do you have for comfortable camping / eating / sleeping there at Smoky Mountain Meadow campground?

okieboater
Name: David L. Reid

Re: Week of Rivers Prep Questions (Looking for Tips)

Post by okieboater » Sun Jun 21, 2015 3:00 pm

Be prepared for one of the best organized club operations for area boating you will ever see.