King's River: Need advice/tips

Open Discussion

LearnedHat
Name: Robert

King's River: Need advice/tips

Post by LearnedHat » Mon Jun 01, 2015 1:16 pm

First, I'm new to this type of thing (at least on such a dedicated level).

I want to float from Marshall Ford to Trigger Gap the weekend before the Fourth of July.

Stipulating average conditions, will there be enough water?

KRO will not shuttle Saturday morning (that distance anyway) - are there any other shuttles for hire?

If I have KRO shuttle me Friday ($120 . . . and I thought $50 to Aintry was high) and wait for the remainder of my party at the Marshall Ford put-in (should make it by 7pm), is there any place close to camp (on the river at the access or proximate down stream?

On Saturday . . . will it just be one loud drunken jerk (I've been one a few times I'm sure) after another on my way into Trigger Gap? I kinda wanted to fish.

Thanks for any help

kru1
Name: Kristian

Re: King's River: Need advice/tips

Post by kru1 » Mon Jun 01, 2015 2:40 pm

Typically the Kings is not runnable from Marshall down by June much less July. However, we have had the wettest May in Arkansas history, so there is no telling. Keep in touch with Ernie at KRO a little before your trip and he will let you know.

The access at Marshall is surrounded by private land. No camping there that I am aware of. I'm sure you could paddle down or up stream a little and find a gravel bar.

The shuttle from KRO to Marshall takes a little less the 2 hours each way. Hence the high price. Can't you run your own shuttle since you have others meeting you? Meet and camp at KRO Friday and in the morning get up and drive to Marshall leaving a car at KRO