Question about NOC

Open Discussion
rublelvr
Name: John Ashby

Question about NOC

Post by rublelvr » Wed May 13, 2009 9:24 pm

I am in my second year of paddling and definitely need some formal instruction in paddling techniques etc. Can anyone tell me if the course given at NOC is worth the investment and drive or are there better kayak schools to consider. Any advice from the veterans out there would be greatly appreciated.

Pad1dle

Re: Question about NOC

Post by Pad1dle » Wed May 13, 2009 10:06 pm

NOC instuction is very professional and worth the $$. Many ACC padlers have been there.

You might also check this club school out. I have been to a couple of their classes. One for ww solo canoe and one for ww kayak. Much like the ACC school, except they have dam-release water.
http://www.paddletsra.org/schools.html" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;

This club group offers schools as well as their "Week Of Rivers". Never attended their event myself--Some of my friends really liked it.
http://www.carolinacanoeclub.org/welcome.html" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;
You are on the right track to want formal instruction! My 2 cents, Jerry Martin

Lupe
Name: Heather Huckeba

Post by Lupe » Wed May 13, 2009 10:08 pm

Hi there,

I have done 2 sets of instruction: one was what I think was a 4 day "intermediate" course with NOC during my second year, and then in my third year I did 2 days of private instruction with Endless River Adventures, also located there in the Nantahala Gorge.